my first decorated cake (all on my own)

as i’ve probably mentioned in one of my earlier posts, i’ve been baking much often lately than i have been for the last 10 years or so. i bake during weekends; i bake after office hours. i even bake at 11pm on a weekday, to finish at 2am (that 3-hour time frame includes cooling the goodies, washing up, and getting ready for bed hehe) and not complain about lack of sleep. yep, it’s that bad. i LOVE baking! πŸ™‚

i learned to bake from my mama. she used to bake lots of pastries and cakes to augment our family income. she made hamburgers, spaghetti , pastillas, meringue, brownies, etc. to sell at the school canteen. all these she did after her teaching hours at a nearby elementary school. πŸ™‚ galing ng mama ko noh? she was our super mom. πŸ™‚
and now that the call of the oven haunts me every single day, i try to bake the best recipe version of chocolate, carrot, red velvet and cookies and cream cupcakes/cakes i can get my hands on. you see, i plan on opening my online shop soon. and i hope to do this very soon. πŸ™‚

here is the very first decorated cupcake i did at home. i’ve been to baking classes before where we bake and decorate our own cakes at the baking studio, with all the gadgets and equipment they have available. this time, it was all me – my oven (which gets cranky and burns cakes, i tell ya!), own bought ingredients, own baking utensils and equipment.

presenting, a 6 inch moist and yummy (after 3-4 recipes!!!) red velvet cake with marshmallow frosting (i didn’t do cream cheese as a toddler was going to eat this and my toddler doesn’t like cream cheese just yet!) and fondant hello kitty toppers. heehee πŸ™‚

DSCN2850Β DSCN2852

i bake often to practice my skills (and find that perfect recipe!), and this time my red velvet cake was yummy enough to share (translation:Β di nako mapapahiyaI!I). πŸ™‚DSCN2864

my little k can’t wait to get her hands on this one (nadutdot na nya actually ng konti, inayos ko lang ulit hehe). πŸ™‚

DSCN2857v1

i’m practicing to be good enough to bake the goodies for your dessert table on your 2nd birthday, kirs!Β di pa kaya ni mama angΒ cakeΒ e hehe but soon, sweetheart! πŸ™‚

and to kuch, happy birthday cutie! your mom told me they liked the cake! πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

